Home

IMG_9326

The following photos are the workings of my time as a Merz DIY 2013 artist-in-residence, in Langdale Valley of the Lakes, where I painfully passed four days of mostly-enforced silence, fumbling around with miniscule pieces of lead, letter by letter laying out a little poem entitled The Sadness of Scything, which was written 5 hours before rising at the scything hour, to scythe the top field of Cylinders Estate.

Thirty prints of The Sadness of Scything are now in existence. Each one was written, set, inked and printed by myself, on an early nineteenth-century printing press previously belonging to artist Gwyneth Alban Davies. I hope you enjoy the photos as much as I enjoyed this unbelievable process.

img_1157

img_1153

img_1225

img_1211

img_1218

Words by Penny Newell, DIY 13 resident

http://pennynewell.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/merz-diy-2013/

Images: Charlotte Turton (1) and Penny Newell (2-6), 2013

